Psalm 63 – David’s Psalm of Devotion

Psalm 63 –  David’s psalm of devotion, written when he was in the wilderness.

1. O God, you are my God; early will I seek you: my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you in a dry and thirsty land, where there is no water.

2. To see your power and your glory, even as I have seen you in the holy place.

3. Because your loving kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise you.

4. Because of this I will bless you while I live: I will lift up my hands in your name.

5. My soul shall be satisfied as if I were well fed; and my mouth shall praise you with joyful lips:

6. When I think upon you when I am watching in the night.

7. Because you have been my help, therefore I will rejoice in the shadow of your wings.

8. My soul follows after you, your right hand holds me up.

9. But those that seek my soul, to destroy it, shall go into the lower parts of the earth.

10. They shall fall by the sword: they shall be food for foxes.

11. But the king shall rejoice in God; every one that makes a vow by him shall glory: but the mouth of those that speak lies shall be shut.

_______________________________________

Even though this psalm can be applied to us, it was written by David when he was in the wilderness hiding from Saul, and so this is how he was praising the Lord.

David says “O God, you are my God”, David has a personal relationship with God. He says that his body and his soul, that part of him with feelings, longs for the Lord, as much as if he needed food and water. He longs to see God’s power and glory in the wilderness as much as he has seen God in the tabernacle. David praises the Lord because his loving kindness to David is better than life, and as long as he lives, David will bless the Lord and lift up his hands in praise to his name.

He says his soul will be satisfied the same as if he had the finest food to eat, and he will praise the Lord with lips that are filled with joy.

At night, when David is watching, he dwells upon the Lord. And he is rejoicing because the Lord has been his help, and David refers to the “shadow of your wings”.. that is saying that the Lord is his comfort and his protection, the same as a mother bird shelters her young and protects them.

David says his soul desires to follow the Lord, because he knows that he can be strong through the Lord.

David knows that those who seek to harm his soul will die, but that everyone who stands for the Lord shall be victorious. Anyone who speaks lies against David will be stopped.

About selah

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Psalms for Children and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

your thoughts are appreciated.

