Jacob and Esau – Genesis 25-27

Jacob and Esau – Genesis 25-27

When Isaac was 40 years old, Rebekah became his wife but Rebekah could not have children.  Isaac prayed for her and the Lord heard his prayers, and after a time God told Rebekah that she would have twins, and that the older one would serve the younger one.

And so the first baby born was red all over, and they called him Esau and the second baby grabbed his brother’s heel, so they called him Jacob. Isaac was 60 years old when Jacob and Esau were born.

And the boys grew up. Esau was a hunter, and Jacob lived in tents. Now Isaac loved Esau because he ate his deer meat, but Rebekah loved Jacob.

One day Jacob made some thick soup, and when Esau came home he was very weak with hunger and he said to Jacob “Feed me with that thick soup, because I am weak with hunger” And Jacob said “Sell me today your birthright.” And Esau said “Look, I am at the point of dying and what good will this birthright do to me?” So Jacob said “Swear to me today”, and Esau swore to him, and he sold his birthright to Jacob. Then Jacob gave Esau bread and soup of lentils, and he ate and drank and got up and went away.

After more years had passed, Isaac was old and he could not see very well, and he called Esau and said “I am old, and I don’t know the day I will die, so take your weapons and go to the field and get for me some deer meat. And make me savoury meat that I love and bring it to me so that I may eat, that I may bless you before I die.

Rebekah heard Isaac speaking to Esau, and so she spoke to Jacob “My son, obey what I tell you to do. Go to the flock and fetch me two baby goats, and I will make savoury meat which your father loves. And you will bring it to your father so he may eat, and so he may bless you before his death.” And Jacob said to Rebekah “Look, Esau is a hairy man and I am a smooth man. My father by chance will feel me, and I will be seen as a deceiver.  I will bring a curse upon me and not a blessing”. And Rebekah said “Upon me be your curse my son, only obey my voice and go fetch me them.”

And so Jacob went and fetched, and his mother made savoury meat as his father loved. And Rebekah took good clothes of Esau which were in the house, and put them upon Jacob. And she put the skins of the kids of the goats on his hands, and on his neck. And she gave the meat and bread which she had prepared to Jacob.

And Jacob went to his father, and Isaac said “who are you my son?” And Jacob said “I am Esau your firstborn, I have done what you asked me, sit and eat your savoury meat so you can bless me. But when Isaac felt Jacob he said “The voice is Jacob’s voice but the hands are the hands of Esau.” And he said “are you my son Esau?” and Jacob said “I am”, and Jacob smelled like Esau because he was wearing Esau’s clothing. And Isaac did not discover that it was Jacob because his hands were hairy as Esau’s were, so he blessed him saying “let people serve you, and nations bow down to you. everyone that curses you shall be cursed, and blessed be he who blesses you.”

And so Isaac blessed Jacob and as soon as he finished, Esau came with the savoury meat he had prepared. And Isaac said “who are you?” and he said “I am Esau, your firstborn son.” And Isaac shook very much and said “where is he that brought me meat whom I have already blessed, and cannot take that away?” And when Esau heard his father, he cried with a great and bitter cry, “Bless me, even me also O my father.” But Isaac said “Your brother came with deception, and has taken away your blessing.” And Esau wept. And so Isaac gave him a blessing too, but Jacob got the greater blessings.

For this deception, Esau hated Jacob and said in his heart that when Isaac died, he would kill his brother Jacob. But Rebekah heard these words, and called Jacob to her, and told him to run to another country, to her brother called Laban to stay a few days, but Jacob was gone for a very long time, and he never saw his mother again.

Memory Verse: Gen 27:35 “And he said, Thy brother came with subtilty, and hath taken away thy blessing.”

Questions:

1. What did God tell Rebekah about her twins before they were born?  Answer:  That the elder would serve the younger

2. Why did Esau sell his birthright, and what did he sell it for?  Answer: because he was weak with hunger and he sold it for a bowl of lentil soup and some bread.

3. Why did Isaac think Jacob was Esau?  Answer:  Because Jacob was wearing goatskins on his hands and face, and he was wearing Esau’s clothes.

4. What happened when Esau came home?  Answer:  He was very upset, and he cried and begged his father for a blessing too.

5. What did Rebekah tell Jacob to do after she heard Esau say that  he will kill Jacob after their father died?  Answer:   Go to her brother Laban’s house for a few days.

About Vicki

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Bible Stories, Genesis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jacob and Esau – Genesis 25-27

  1. Pingback: Bible Story Coloring Page for Jacob and Esau | Free Bible Stories for Children

your thoughts are appreciated.

