The Last Supper – Mark 14, John 13-14

The Last Supper – Mark 14, John 13

In a previous story entitled The Lord Jesus is Betrayed by Judas, we learned how Judas went to the Pharisees who promised to give him 30 pieces of silver to betray the Lord Jesus.

When the day came for the feast of Passover, Jesus disciples asked him where they would go to celebrate.  Jesus sent two of them saying “Go into the city and there will be a man carrying a pitcher of water, follow him.   When he goes into a house, you say to the owner of the house ‘The Master wants to know where the guest room is where I can eat the Passover with my disciples.’ And he will show you a large room upstairs which will already be furnished for us. There you will get everything ready for the Passover.”

And so his disciples went to the city and found everything as Jesus had told them, and made the room ready for the Passover feast.  In the evening, Jesus came with his twelve apostles. First he taught them about footwashing, that is in another story. Then Jesus took bread, and blessed it,  broke it into pieces and gave it to them and said “Take, eat: this is my body which is given for you, do this in remembrance of me” And then he took the cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them: and they all drank of it. And he said to them “This is my blood which is shed for you. Truly I will not drink of this fruit of the vine again until the day that I drink it in the kingdom of God.” And as they sat and ate, Jesus said to them “Truly I say to you, one of you shall betray me.” And the apostles were very sad and they said to him one by one, “Lord, is it me?”

And Jesus answered and said “It is one of the twelve, that dips with me in the dish, that man will betray me. Woe unto this man, it will be better for that man if he had not been born.” And John, who was lying on Jesus’ chest, asked Jesus who it was who would betray him, and Jesus answered “It is he that I will give a piece of bread to”, and when he had dipped the piece of bread, he gave it to Judas..then Judas said “Master is it me?” and Jesus answered “You have said, what you do, do quickly” and after he had eaten the sop, he went out into the night, the devil having entered into him.

After that, Jesus said “Little children, for a little while longer I will be with you.  You shall look for me, but where I am going you cannot come, so now I say this to you. Here is a new commandment I give you. Love one another as I have loved you. By this will all men know that you are my disciples because you love one another.

Simon Peter said to him “Lord, where are you going?”  Jesus said “Where I go, you cannot follow me now, but you will after a time.” Peter said “Lord, why can’t I follow you now? I will give my life for you.” Jesus answered “Will you give you life for me? Truly I say to you, the rooster shall not crow until you deny me three times.”

Then the Lord Jesus told them something wonderful.  He said “Don’t let your heart be troubled, as you believe in God, also believe in me.  There are many dwelling places in my Father’s house and I am going to prepare a place for you.  If I go, I will come again and receive you to myself, so that where I am, there you will be too.” But the disciples said “We don’t know where you are going, and how can we know the way?” and Jesus spoke mighty words “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man comes to the Father, but by me.” That means that Jesus is the only way to heaven, and all those who believe in him as their Saviour, will be with him in heaven. Then Jesus said “I will pray to the Father and he will give you another Comforter who will stay with you forever, the Spirit of truth. I will not leave you comfortless, I will come to you. The Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost,  will teach you all things and bring everything to your memory that I have said to you. I give you my peace. Don’t let your heart be troubled, and don’t let it be afraid.”

And Jesus spoke many more words to his disciples, words of love and peace. And after that they sang a hymn and went to the place called The Garden of Gethsemane”

Memory Verse: John 14:6 “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

Questions:

1. What were the Pharisees going to give Judas for betraying Jesus?  Answer:  30 pieces of silver

2. What did the Lord Jesus do with the bread?  Answer:  He broke it and gave to his disciples telling them “this is my body broken for you, do this in remembrance of me.”

3. What did he do with the cup of wine?  Answer:  He gave it to them to drink from and told them that the wine was his blood shed for them.

4. What was the new commandment Jesus gave his disciples? Answer:  To love one another

5. What did Judas do when Jesus gave him the piece of bread?  Answer:  He went out quickly into the night.

About Vicki

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Bible Stories, Gospel of John, Mark and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Supper – Mark 14, John 13-14

  1. Pingback: Bible Story Coloring Page for The Last Supper | Free Bible Stories for Children

your thoughts are appreciated.

