The Trial of the Lord Jesus – John 18

The Trial of the Lord Jesus – John 18

After the Lord Jesus was betrayed by Judas in the Garden of Gethsemane  and taken by the officers of the Jews, he was taken to Caiaphas, the high priest. It was he who decided who would live and who should die.  Peter followed Jesus, and so did John.  John followed Jesus into the palace of Caiaphas, but Peter stayed outside the door. John spoke to the young woman who was in charge of opening and closing the door and asked that Peter should come in, and so the lady said to Peter “Aren’t you one of his disciples?” but Peter said “I am not.” After that Peter stood by a fire with servants and officers and warmed himself.  One said to him “Aren’t you one of his disciples?” and Peter said to him “I am not.”  Then one of the servants of the high priest who had seen Peter in the garden of Gethsemane said to him “Didn’t I see you in the garden with him?” and Peter denied knowing the Lord Jesus for the third time, and immediately the rooster crowed.  This fulfilled what the Lord Jesus had told Peter earlier, that before the rooster crowed, he would deny the Lord Jesus three times.  Peter went out and cried very much.

The high priest asked Jesus about his disciples, and about what he had been teaching.  Jesus said “I have never spoken in secret, but have always taught where anyone could hear me. I always taught in the synagogue and in the temple where the Jews always are. Why are you asking me? Ask them who heard me, they know what I have said to them.” Then one of the officers hit Jesus with the palm of his hand saying “Is this how you answer the high priest?” And Jesus said “If I have spoken evil, tell me how, but if I have spoken good, why do you strike me?” They did many other cruel things to Jesus too.  They said to him “Are you the Christ?” and he answered them “If I tell you, you won’t believe, after this the Son of man will sit on the right hand of God.” Then they all said “Are you the Son of God?” and he said “You say that I am.”

Then the Jews led Jesus from Caiaphus to the hall of judgment where Pilate was.  Pilate was the Roman governor at that time.  The Jews did not go in because they did not want to make themselves unclean. And so Pilate said to them “What are you accusing this man of? take him and judge him according to your law.”  The Jews answered “It is not lawful for us to put a man to death.” And so the teaching of Jesus was going to be fulfilled, about the way in which he would die, because the Jews killed people by stoning, but the Romans put men to death by crucifixion.

Then Pilate called Jesus and said “Are you the King of the Jews?” Jesus answered “Are you asking me this for yourself? or did others tell you this.”  Pilate said “Am I Jewish? your own nation has brought you to me, what have you done?”   Jesus said “My kingdom is not of this world, if my kingdom were of this world than my servants would fight so I would not be delivered to the Jews, but at this time my kingdom is not here.” And again Pilate said “Are you a king then?”  Jesus answered him “You say that I am a king. This is why I was born, and why I came into the world, so that I could speak the truth. Everyone that will believe the truth hears me.” Then Pilate said to him “What is truth?” and then he went out to the Jews and said “I find no fault in him.”

The Jews grew very angry and told Pilate that Jesus taught in Galilee, and as soon as Pilate found that out, he sent Jesus to Herod, because Galilee belonged to Herod.  When Herod saw Jesus, he was very happy because he wanted to meet him for a long time.  Herod had heard about all the miracles Jesus had done, and wanted to see one for himself.   He asked Jesus many questions, but Jesus did not speak a word, so Herod sent him back to Pilate.

Pilate spoke to the Jews and said “You have brought this man to me, as one that has done wrong. I have examined him and find no fault in him, neither has Herod. He has done nothing worthy of death. But you have a custom where a prisoner is released at the passover: will you have me release Jesus, the King of the Jews to you?” And they said “Not this man, but Barabbas.” And when Pilate saw that the Jews would not have Jesus, he took water and washed his hands before them saying “I am innocent of the blood of this just person.”

And so Barabbas, who was a robber, was released..but Jesus was not.

Memory Verse: John 28:37 “….for this cause I came into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth.”

Questions:

1. What did Peter do after the rooster crowed?  Answer:  He went out and cried very much because he had denied his Lord.

2. What did Pilate say about Jesus? and then where did he send him?  Answer:  He said that he found no fault in him and then sent him to Herod

3. Why was Herod so happy to see Jesus?  Answer: Because he had heard of all his miracles and thought that he could see one.

4. How did Pilate try to let Jesus go?  Answer:  He told the people that there was a custom where a prisoner could be released.

5. Who was Barabbas?  Answer:  He was a robber.

Answers:

1.

2.

3.

4. d.

5.

About Vicki

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Bible Stories, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Trial of the Lord Jesus – John 18

  1. Pingback: Bible Story Coloring Page Trial of the Lord Jesus | Free Bible Stories for Children

your thoughts are appreciated.

