Book of Jonah – Flees the Lord and Swallowed by the Whale

Book of Jonah – Flees the Lord and Swallowed by the Whale

One day the word of the LORD came to Jonah, the son of Amittai, and said “Get up and go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry against it because I know how wicked it has become.” But Jonah got up to flee from the presence of the LORD, and went to the city of Joppa where he found a ship going to Tarshish.  Jonah paid the fare and got on the ship because he wanted to flee from the presence of the LORD.

But the Lord sent a great wind, and there was a very strong storm.  It tossed the ship about so much that it was almost broken.  Every man on board prayed to his god, and threw things overboard to lighten the ship, but Jonah was sleeping inside the ship.   The master of the ship came to him and said “What do you mean by sleeping? Get up and call upon your God, and perhaps God will look upon us so that we will not perish”.

The men on the ship decided to cast lots to see whose fault it was that this had happened to them, and it was found that it was because of Jonah that the wind had come.

So they spoke to Jonah and said “What is your job? and why have you come? where do you live? and of what people are you?”  Jonah told them “I am a Hebrew, and I fear the LORD, the God of heaven which has made the sea and the dry land.” The men were very fearful and said to him “Why have you done this?” The men knew that Jonah had run away from the presence of the LORD because he had told them.  They said “What shall we do to you, that the sea might calm down?” And Jonah said “Take me and throw me into the sea, and then the sea will be calm for you, because I know that it is for my sake that this great storm has come upon you.” So they cried out to the LORD and said “We plead with you O LORD, we plead with you, do not let us perish because of this man’s life, and do not hold us responsible, for you O LORD, have done what has pleased you.”

They took Jonah, and threw him into the sea, and immediately the sea was calm.  The men on the ship were very fearful of the LORD, and offered a sacrifice to him, and made vows. But the LORD had prepared a great fish to swallow up Jonah, and Jonah was in the belly of the fish for three days and three nights.

And Jonah prayed to the LORD from the fish’s belly and said “Because of what has happened to me I cried unto the LORD, and you heard my voice. For you have cast me into the middle of the sea, and the water was all around me, and your waves passed over me. Then I said, I am cast out of your sight, and yet I will look again toward your holy temple. The water was all around me, the weeds were wrapped around my head, I went down to the bottom, but you have saved me from corruption, O LORD my God. When my soul fainted within me, I remembered the LORD, and my prayer came to you in your holy temple.  I will sacrifice to you with a thankful voice, I will pay that which I have vowed. Salvation is of the LORD.”

And the LORD spoke to the fish, and it vomited out Jonah on the dry land.

Memory Verse: Jonah 2:10 “…..Salvation is of the LORD.”

Questions:

1. What did Jonah do when the LORD told him to go to Ninevah?  Answer:  He was disobedient, he wanted to flee from the presence of the LORD.

2. Do you think we can flee from the presence of the LORD? and if not, why not?  Answer:  No, because God is in control of everything, and He is always with us.

3. Who sent the great wind?  Answer:  the LORD

4. Who sent the fish to swallow Jonah up?  Answer:  The LORD

5. What did Jonah say before the fish vomited him onto the dry land?  Answer:  He said “Salvation is of the LORD”

About Vicki

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Bible Stories, Jonah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book of Jonah – Flees the Lord and Swallowed by the Whale

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love the story

your thoughts are appreciated.

