Book of Jeremiah – The Almond Rod and the Boiling Pot

Book of Jeremiah – The Almond Rod and the Boiling Pot

These are the words of Jeremiah:

The word of the LORD came to me, and said “I knew you before you were born, and I set you apart and made you a prophet to the nations” Then I (Jeremiah) said “O Lord God, I cannot speak for I am a child.” But the LORD said to me, “Do not say that you are a child, because you shall go to all that I send you, and you will speak whatever I command you. Do not be afraid for I am with you” said the LORD. And then the LORD put forth his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Look, I have put my words in your mouth. Today I have set you over nations and over kingdoms..”

And after that the word of the LORD came to me and said “Jeremiah, what do you see?” and I said “I see a rod of an almond tree.” Then the LORD said to me, “You have seen well, for I will move quickly to perform my word.”

Then the LORD came to me a second time saying “What do you see?” And I said “I see a boiling pot, and the front of it is toward the north”. Then the LORD told me that enemies would come from the north against all the cities of Judah, and that the LORD would bring judgments to those cities because they had turned away from the LORD, worshipped other gods, and worshipped things that they had done with their own hands.

So the LORD told Jeremiah to speak to the people of the cities of Judah, all the words that the LORD gave him, and the LORD told Jeremiah that the people would fight against Jeremiah, but that they would not have victory because “I am with you, says the LORD, and will rescue you.”

Memory Verse: Jeremiah 1:19 “..they shall fight against you but they will not have victory over you; for I am with you, says the LORD, and will rescue you.”

Questions:

1 When did the LORD make Jeremiah a prophet to the nations?  Answer:  Before he was born

2 What did the LORD do when Jeremiah told him he could not speak because he was a child?  Answer:  He touched Jeremiah’s mouth and put his words in Jeremiah’s mouth

3 What was the meaning of the almond tree?  Answer:  The almond tree meant that the LORD would hurry to perform his words

4 What was the meaning of the boiling pot?  Answer:  The boiling pot meant that enemies would come from the north against all the cities of Judah

5 What did the LORD tell Jeremiah he would do when the people fought against him?  Answer:  The LORD told Jeremiah that the people would not have victory because He was with Jeremiah, and He would rescue him.

About Vicki

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Bible Stories, Jeremiah and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

your thoughts are appreciated.

