Book of Jeremiah – The Potter and His Vessels

Book of Jeremiah – The Potter and His Vessels

These are the words which came to Jeremiah from the LORD:

“Get up and go to the potter’s house, and there you will hear my words”. Then I went down to the potter’s house and saw that he was making a vessel on his potter’s wheel. But the vessel that was made of clay was damaged in the potter’s hands so he made another vessel in just a way that seemed good to him.

Then the word of the LORD came to me and said “O Israel, can’t I do with you the same as this potter? Just as the clay is in the potter’s hand, you are in my hand O house of Israel. In one moment I shall speak about a nation and a kingdom, to pick it up, to pull it down, or to destroy it. If that nation turns from its wicked ways, I will not do the judgments that I thought to do to them.

And in one moment I shall speak about a nation and a kingdom to build it up and plant it. If that nation does evil in my sight by disobeying my voice, then I will not do the good things that I was going to do for them.

Memory Verse: Jeremiah 18:6 “O Israel, can’t I do with you the same as this potter? Just as the clay is in the potter’s hand, you are in my hand O house of Israel.”

Questions

1 Where did the LORD tell Jeremiah to go?  Answer:  to the potter’s house

2 What was the potter doing?  Answer:  making a vessel on his potter’s wheel

3 What happened to the vessel the potter was making? what did he do?  Answer:  it was damaged in his hands so he made another one in a way that seemed good to him.

4 How did the LORD compare Israel to the clay vessel?  Answer:  the LORD said that just as the clay was in the potter’s hands, Israel was in the LORD’s hands

5 what did the LORD say he would do to a nation that turned from its wicked ways?  Answer:  the LORD said that if a nation turned from its wicked ways he would not bring the judgments he was going to do to them

6 what did the LORD say he would do to a nation that did evil in his sight?  Answer:  the LORD said that if a nation did evil in his sight by disobeying his voice, then he would not do the good things he was going to do for them.

About Vicki

a pilgrim passing through this life looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith.. a person with a simple life who loves photography and living in a quiet place.
This entry was posted in Bible Stories, Jeremiah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

your thoughts are appreciated.

